Outbreak Response of Circulating Vaccine Derived Polio Virus in Northern Nigeria

Following the outbreak of circulating Vaccine Derived Polio Virus (cVDPV) in 10 Northern states in the country, a phased outbreak response (OBR) strategy was adopted for effective coverage. The affected states were divided into two (2) and the first outbreak response was held from 8 – 11 December 2018 in the following states; Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Taraba, Sokoto and Zamfara states.   

 The National Stop Transmission of Polio (NSTOP) deployed eighty-four (84) Management Support teams (MSTs) including Logisticians and staff to support the exercise.

 The MSTs were deployed from 5-13 December 2018 and they participated in pre-implementation, Implementation and post-implementation activities.  As part of the implementation activities, the MSTs conducted active case search for AFP in all communities visited, supervised vaccination teams and participated at evening review meetings where the progress of the vaccination campaigns was discussed at the ward, LGA and state levels.